Djokovic, Nadal lead the field at ATP Cup

Novak Djokovic and Rafael Nadal lead the field at the 12-team ATP Cup in Melbourne

Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic

The top two players in the world, Novak Djokovic and Rafael Nadal, will lead the way as twelve countries battle it out for the 2021 ATP Cup.

The team event will be held in Melbourne from February 1-5, a week before the Australian Open.

ALSO READ: Australian Open may run into more quarantine trouble

In 2020, Serbia defeated Spain 2-1 in a thrilling championship clash, which included a tantalising match-up between Djokovic and Nadal.

The 2021 ATP Cup will feature 14 of the Top 15 players in the FedEx ATP Rankings. Each team will consist of four players per country.

Sharpen your forehand with our FREE guide

Russia has one of the strongest teams in the competition, with ATP World Tour Finals champion Daniil Medvedev and world No 8 Andrey Rublev representing it.

Qualification for the tournament was based on the ATP Ranking of each country’s top-ranked singles player, while Australia qualifies by virtue of a host wild card. Alex De Minaur, who earned two Top 15 wins at last year’s inaugural ATP Cup, will once again lead the way for Australia.

ALSO READ: ‘If Serena had little decency, she would retire,’ says Ion Tiriac

Roger Federer, who was supposed to team up with Stan Wawrinka for Switzerland, has withdrawn from the tournament as he is still not hundred per cent fit. The 39-year-old underwent two knee surgeries last year and is hasn’t put a date on his comeback yet.

Also missing in action is Nick Kyrgios, one of the heroes of the 2020 ATP Cup.

ALSO READ: Sofia Kenin’s management agency drops her

The draw will take place on 20 January, when the 12 teams will be divided into four groups of three for group stage, round-robin play. The four group winners will advance to the semi-finals.

Team lists

Novak Djokovic, Dusan Lajovic, Filip Krajinovic, Nikola Cacic

Rafael Nadal, Roberto Bautista Agut, Marcel Granollers, Pablo Carreno Busta

Dominic Thiem, Dennis Novak, Philipp Oswald, Tristan-Samuel Weissborn

Daniil Medvedev, Andrey Rublev, Aslan Karatsev, Evgeny Dosnkoy

Diego Schwartzman, Guido Pella, Horacio Zeballos, Maximo Gonzalez

Matteo Berrettini, Fabio Fognini, Simone Bolelli, Andrea Vavassori

Kei Nishikori, Yoshihito Nishioka, Ben McLachlan, Toshihide Matsui

Gael Monfils, Benoit Paire, Nicolas Mahut, Edouard Roger-Vasselin

Stefanos Tsitsipas, Michail Pervolarakis, Markos Kalovelonis, Petros Tsitsipas

Denis Shapovalov, Milos Raonic, Peter Polansky, Steven Diez

Alexander Zverev, Jan-Lennard Struff, Kevin Krawietz, Andreas Mies

Alex de Minaur, John Millman, John Peers, Luke Saville