Nadal, Federer re-elected to ATP Player Council

Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal have been re-elected to the ATP Player Council till June 2022

Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer have been re-elected to the ATP Player Council

Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer have been re-elected to the ATP Player Council, the men’s tennis governing body said in a release on Tuesday, days after Novak Djokovic was forced to withdraw his nomination.

World No 1 Djokovic could not be a part of the election as he co-founded the breakaway player body called Professional Tennis Players’ Association in August this year.

ALSO READ: There’s a lot of hypocrisy in tennis, says Paire

The Serb had reportedly been nominated by his peers for the Player Council election but had to pull out as he is already a part of another player body. The ATP views it as ‘conflict of interest.’

A number of existing player members were re-elected for an additional term on the Council, including Felix Auger-Aliassime, Federer, John Millman, Nadal, Kevin Anderson, Andy Murray and Bruno Soares.

Sharpen your forehand with our FREE guide

In addition, Gilles Simon returns to the Council having served previous terms, while newcomers Pablo Andujar and Marcus Daniell will serve their first term.

Members elected to serve on the ATP Player Council through June 2022 are:

  • 1-50 Singles: Felix Auger-Aliassime, Roger Federer, John Millman, Rafael Nadal
  • 51-100 Singles: Pablo Andujar, Gilles Simon
  • 1-100 Doubles: Marcus Daniell, Bruno Soares
  • At-Large: Kevin Anderson, Andy Murray
  • Alumni Representative: Colin Dowdeswell
  • Coach Representative: Daniel Vallverdu

ALSO READ: Roger Federer withdraws from Australian Open

The new ATP Player Council will have its first meeting in the new year, where the President and Vice President will be elected.