Damir Dzumhur sees red over line call, concedes match

Damir Dzumhur concedes match after falling out with the umpire at the Mexico Open

0
2515
Damir Dzumhur conceded match after falling out with the umpire

Damir Dzumhur conceded his second qualifying round match against Botic Van de Zandschulp in the ATP 500 event at Acapulco. The Bosnian, who was trailing 5-6 in the opening set, walked off the court in anger after an argument with the umpire.

The 28-year-old then took to social media to clarify reports that he had been defaulted for his conduct.

ALSO READ: Alexander Zverev not happy about being ranked lower than Roger Federer

“Dear media, if you are already broadcasting news, then at least try to make that news accurate. Damir Dzumhur was not disqualified,” he wrote.

“Damir Dzumhur left the field voluntarily, due to the behaviour and decisions of the chief judge, which were neither objective nor correct. Another very important thing that can be read in the reports is that I threatened to kill someone?

Sharpen your forehand with our FREE guide

“Are you people aware of what this means and where it comes from? Where does this malice come from to say such things at all?

“The media are expected to convey information correctly, objectively, and accurately, but this time it was not.”

ALSO READ: ‘Ugly truth,’ Garbine Muguruza faced in the off-season

Dzumhur, who reached a career-high ranking of 23rd in 2018, lost his cool when serving at 5-5, 40-40. A forehand from his Dutch opponent was called in by the line judge. Dzumhur got into an argument with the chair umpire over it but the call was not overruled.

He subsequently lost the service game to trail 6-5.

ALSO READ: Alexander Zverev becomes a father at 23

The call seemed to have infuriated Dzumhur as he continued remonstrating with the chair umpire during the change of ends and received a code violation for unsportsmanlike conduct.

He returned to court and won the first point on his opponent’s serve with a crosscourt forehand winner but then again seemed to say something to the umpire that earned him a point penalty for unsportsmanlike conduct.

ALSO READ: Dip in prize money affecting motivation, admits Elina Svitolina

The world number 125 then walked off the court, threw his racquet on his bag and touched fists with Van de Zandschulp signalling his intention to not continue playing.

The tournament supervisor had a discussion with Dzumhur, who continued to speak angrily with the chair umpire as his opponent walked away.

ALSO READ: Alex de Minaur in relationship with Katie Boulter

The Bosnian did later apologise for his behavior in the statement on social media.

“In the end, I apologize to my family and my loved ones and of course to those who support me for behaving so emotionally and for not showing strength, for showing once again that things like this can affect me to show my worse and weaker side.”

LEAVE A REPLY