French Open 2022: All you need to know

The French Open begins on Sunday. Here's all you need to know about the clay-court Grand Slam.

All you need to know about French Open 2022. Rafael Nadal has won the most titles

All you need to know about the 2022 French Open, dates prize money, history and more…

When is French Open 2022?

Roland Garros 2022 will be held from 22 May – 5 June. The clay-court Grand Slam tournament, established in 1891, will take place at the Stade Roland-Garros in Paris, France. The tournament director is Amelie Mauresmo.

ALSO READ: Elina Svitolina is a nobody, says Russian tennis chief

Who is playing at French Open 2022?

Roland Garros will feature Top 10 stars like Rafael Nadal, Novak Djokovic, Daniil Medvedev, Alexander Zverev, Stefanos Tsitsipas and Carlos Alcaraz.

Sharpen your backhand with our FREE guide

The women’s field will be dominated by Iga Swiatek, who has won 28 matches and five titles in a row. Also features Naomi Osaka, former champion Garbine Muguruza and in-form Ons Jabeur.

What is the prize money and points for Roland Garros?

The prize money for Roland Garros is €43,600,000.

Winner: €2,200,000 / 2,000 points
Finalist: €1,100,000 / 1,200 points
Semi-finalist: €600,000 / 720 points
Quarter-finalist: €380,000 / 360 points
Round of 16: €220,000 / 180 points
Round of 32: €125,800 / 90 points
Round of 64: €86,000 / 45 points
Round of 128: €62,000 / 10 points

ALSO READ: Daniil Medvedev opens up on Wimbledon ban

Who won the last edition of French Open in 2021?

Novak Djokovic won the 2021 Roland Garros singles title with a 6-7(6), 2-6, 6-3, 6-2, 6-4 victory against Stefanos Tsitsipas in the championship match.

ALSO READ: Why Novak Djokovic split with long-time coach Marian Vajda

Barbora Krejcikova beat Russia’s Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova 6-1, 2-6, 6-4 in the 2021 French Open final to claim her first Grand Slam title.

Who holds the Roland Garros record for most titles?

Men’s singles: Rafael Nadal (13)
Women’s singles: Chris Evert (7)

ALSO READ: Gael Monfils and Elina Svitolina expecting a baby girl

Who are the youngest and oldest to win the clay-court major?

Men’s singles
Oldest Champion: Andres Gimeno, 34, in 1972
Youngest Champion: Michael Chang, 17, in 1989

Women’s singles
Oldest Champion: Serena Williams, 32, in 2015
Youngest Champion: Monica Seles, 16, in 1990

ALSO READ: Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal told to ‘come clean’