Alexander Zverev disqualified from Mexico Open

Alexander Zverev lashed out and nearly hit the chair umpire during his doubles match in Mexico

0
5497
Alexander Zverev lashed out and nearly hit the chair umpire during his doubles match in Mexico

Alexander Zverev has been disqualified from the Mexico Open after nearly hitting the chair umpire with his racquet during a doubles match on Tuesday.

Zverev and Brazil’s Marcelo Melo, ranked No 1 in the world in doubles, went down 6-2, 4-6, 10-6 to lucky losers Lloyd Glasspool and Harri Heliovaara in the opening round encounter.

ALSO READ: ‘She needs a psychiatrist,’ Victoria Azarenka slams rival

The German had been involved in an argument over a line call at 8-6 in the match tie-break. In rage, Zverev started hurling abuses at the umpire, using the ‘F’ word generously.

After the players’ customary post-match handshake, Zverev was seen slamming his racquet against the umpire’s chair multiple times, coming very close to hitting the umpire’s foot.

Sharpen your backhand with our FREE guide

There was no remorse, however, as he continued to shout at the umpire.

The Mexico Open stated on Wednesday that he has been defaulted from the tournament.

“Due to unsportsmanlike conduct at the conclusion of his doubles match on Tuesday night, Alexander Zverev has been withdrawn from the tournament in Acapulco,” the tournament stated on social media.

ALSO READ: Novak Djokovic admits to ‘selfish’ mistake

In the early hours on Tuesday, the 2020 US Open finalist won his first round singles match against American Jenson Brooksby at 4:54 AM local time, which was the latest ever finish to a professional tennis match.

Zverev, the World No 3, defeated Brooksby 3-6, 7-6, 6-2.

ALSO READ: Carlos Alcaraz creates history in Rio de Janeiro

LEAVE A REPLY