ATP Finals: Nadal grouped with in-form Rublev

Rafael Nadal to play with Andrey Rublev, Dominic Thiem and Stefanos Tsitsipas in the ATP Finals group stage

Andrey Rublev beat King of Clay Rafael Nadal at the Monte Carlo Masters on Friday

Rafael Nadal, who is gunning for his maiden ATP Finals title, has been drawn with World No 3 Dominic Thiem and young guns Stefanos Tsitsipas and Andrey Rublev.

The draw ceremony for the ATP Finals, which will be held at London’s O2 Arena from November 15 to 22, was made in London on Thursday evening.

ALSO READ: Wilander’s U-Turn: I’m rooting for Murray 100 per cent

While Nadal, who has earned his spot at the event for a record 16 consecutive years, leads Group London 2020, World No 1 Novak Djokovic is in Group Tokyo 1970. He has been drawn to play with Daniil Medvedev, Alexander Zverev and Diego Schwartzman in the group stages.

Group Tokyo 1970
Novak Djokovic
Daniil Medvedev
Alexander Zverev
Diego Schwartzman

Sharpen your backhand with our FREE guide

Group London 2020
Rafael Nadal
Dominic Thiem
Stefanos Tsitsipas
Andrey Rublev

Tsitsipas had won last year’s title with a thrilling three-set win over Thiem.

ALSO READ: Gilles Simon wins 47-shot rally but loses match

Djokovic has a 39-3 match record on the season and has qualified for the season finale 13 times. He triumphed at the event in 2008 and 2012-15 and is aiming for a record-equalling sixth title at the ATP Finals.

Meanwhile, Rublev is the man with the momentum. The Russian has won Tour-leading five titles this season and is level with Djokovic for the most wins – 39, including 19 of his last 20 matches.

ALSO READ: ATP Finals: Reduced prize money, no fans

This is the 50th Anniversary of the ATP Finals, which was first held in 1970 in Tokyo, where Smith lifted the trophy. It is the tournament’s 12th and final edition in London.

Next year, the season finale will move to Turin, Italy.

ALSO READ: Sampras to Djokovic: Give me that return of serve

Seven different countries are represented in the elite eight-man singles field. Four played aged 24 and under will compete at The O2.

Italian Matteo Berrettini, the 2019 qualifier, and Canadian Denis Shapovalov are first and second alternates, respectively, in the singles field.